Skip to content
Independent editorial — no affiliate links, no prices, no sponsored placements
SmartHomeVerdict

Best Air Purifiers of 2026 — Compared & Explained

Four current models compared on the only metric that makes purifiers genuinely comparable — verified clean-air delivery — plus filtration stages, noise and running costs.

Air purifiers are sold on room-size numbers that assume one air change per hour at maximum fan speed, which is not a setting anyone lives with. The figure that makes two machines comparable is CADR, measured to a published standard, and only some manufacturers publish it.

This comparison currently covers four models, because four is what our product feed carries with credible documentation. We would rather show you four we can stand behind than pad the page to five.

Last reviewed September 20264 models comparedNo prices · no purchase links
Levoit Vital 200S-P air purifier
Levoit Vital 200S-P — top of this rankingManufacturer’s listing photograph, shown unaltered to identify this model. Property of its owner; no affiliation implied. Image credits
Which one is right for you?Match your situation, then read the full review below
Quick recommendations by household situation for air purifiers
If this is youStart withWhy
Large rooms and allergy householdsThe only AHAM Verifide unit here rated for up to 1,875 sq ft — independent certification, not a self-reported claim.
Bedrooms25 dB sleep mode, and it publishes an air-change rate of 4.8 per hour instead of only a room size.
Pet odour, not just hair
HEAPETS P339 air purifier
HEAPETS P339
8.0 / 10
Seven stages including bio-enzyme activated carbon aimed specifically at odour compounds.
Tight floor space
HEAPETS P358 air purifier
HEAPETS P358
7.8 / 10
An A4-sized footprint with a washable pre-filter — but the lowest owner rating in this comparison.

Side-by-side comparison

Specifications as published by each manufacturer, cross-checked September 2026.

Air Purifiers compared on editorial score, published specifications and features
SpecLevoit Vital 200S-P
Editorial score 8.9 out of 10
Levoit Vital 100S-P
Editorial score 8.6 out of 10
HEAPETS P339
Editorial score 8.0 out of 10
HEAPETS P358
Editorial score 7.8 out of 10
Our score8.98.68.07.8
Best forLarge roomsBedroomsPet odourTight spaces
Independent verificationAHAM VerifideAHAM VerifideNone for performanceNone for performance
CADR publishedNot stated as a numberNot stated as a numberNoNo
Stated coverageUp to 1,875 sq ft222 sq ft at 4.8 ACH4,200 sq ft (unverified)2,500 sq ft (unverified)
Filtration stagesNot statedThree-stage with activated carbonSeven-stage H13 HEPA + bio-enzyme carbonH13 HEPA + electrostatic pre-filter
Stated efficiencyNot stated as a number99.97% at 0.1–0.3 μmNot stated as a numberNot stated as a number
Sleep-mode noise27 dB25 dB with display dimmingQuiet mode, not specified25 dB with display off
Odour treatmentU-shaped inlet for hair and odourActivated carbon layer, Pet ModeBio-enzyme activated carbonActivated carbon layer
Washable pre-filterNot statedYesPre-filter cottonYes — electrostatic pads
Owner rating (feed)4.7 / 54.7 / 54.3 / 54.1 / 5
Full reviewRead the full reviewRead the full reviewRead the full reviewRead the full review

“Not published” means the manufacturer does not disclose that figure. We do not estimate missing specifications, and we do not publish prices — they change too quickly to keep honest. Where a measured result comes from third-party testing rather than a manufacturer claim, the row says so.

Every air purifier reviewed

Ordered by our editorial score, highest first. Each review covers the same ground: an overview, the published key specifications, what works, where it falls short, who it is for, and who should buy something else instead.

#1 · Air PurifiersBest overallBest for: Large rooms up to 1,875 sq ft and allergy households
Levoit Vital 200S-P air purifier
Manufacturer’s listing photograph, shown unaltered to identify this model. Property of its owner; no affiliation implied. Image credits

Levoit Vital 200S-P

8.9 / 10Editorial score 8.9 out of 10, our editorial rubric

The only model here with AHAM Verifide certification and a coverage figure large enough for an open-plan living room — the verification is the reason it tops our ranking.

  • AHAM Verifide — independently tested clean-air performance
  • Rated for rooms up to 1,875 sq ft
  • 27 dB quiet mode with a built-in air quality monitor

Overview

Air purifiers are the category where marketing claims run furthest ahead of evidence. Room-size figures are usually calculated from a single one-hour air exchange at the fan highest setting, which is not how anyone runs a purifier in a bedroom. The reason the Vital 200S-P leads this comparison is that it is certified by AHAM — the Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers, an ANSI-accredited body that sets the standard for appliance performance testing — meaning its clean-air delivery has been independently measured rather than asserted.

On top of that verification it offers the largest covered area in this group at up to 1,875 sq ft, which is enough for an open-plan living space rather than a single bedroom. It adds both a conventional air inlet and a U-shaped inlet, which is the design element aimed specifically at airborne pet hair and larger particles that would otherwise settle before the filter sees them. Quiet mode runs at 27 dB, and there is a built-in air quality monitor so you can see whether the machine is responding to a real change rather than trusting an indicator light.

Two honest notes. A certified coverage figure describes the room volume the machine can service at its highest setting — in a bedroom you will run it slower, which means less effective coverage than the headline number implies. And the certification covers clean-air delivery, not filter life: the annual filter cost on a unit this size is the highest in this comparison, so budget for it before you buy.

Key specs

CertificationAHAM Verifide — independently tested to ANSI-accredited standards
Rated coverageRooms up to 1,875 sq ft
Quiet-mode noise27 dB
Air inletsConventional inlet plus a U-shaped inlet for airborne pet hair
Air quality displayBuilt-in air quality monitor
Filter stagesNot disclosed as a stage count on the listing
CADR figureNot published as a number on the listing — certification implies it was measured
Smart featuresApp control as part of the Levoit smart range
Washable pre-filterNot stated on the listing
Owner rating (listing)4.7 out of 5

What works

  • AHAM Verifide certification is real third-party evidence, not a self-reported claim
  • Largest certified room coverage in this comparison at up to 1,875 sq ft
  • 27 dB quiet mode is genuinely suitable for a bedroom
  • Dual-inlet design targets airborne pet hair specifically
  • Built-in air quality monitor lets you verify the machine is working
  • Owner rating of 4.7 across a very large review base

Where it falls short

  • Annual filter cost is the highest in this comparison given the large filter volume
  • The rated coverage assumes the highest fan speed, which is not a bedroom setting
  • Filter stage count is not stated on the listing
  • CADR is not published as a number, so the certification cannot be lined up against a rival figure

Who it's for

  • Large open-plan rooms and living areas that need verified clean-air delivery
  • Allergy and asthma households where certification is the buying criterion
  • Pet owners dealing with airborne hair and dander in a big room

Who should skip it

  • Small bedrooms, where a smaller certified unit covers the space for less
  • Buyers who want the lowest upfront price rather than the largest covered area
  • Anyone who needs a published CADR number to compare against another brand
How this score was built (8.9 / 10)
Verified performance9.3AHAM Verifide — independently tested to ANSI-accredited clean-air standards.
Coverage9.0Rated for rooms up to 1,875 sq ft, the largest verified coverage in this comparison.
Ease & maintenance8.827 dB on quiet mode with an air quality monitor and dual-inlet design.
Value for the tier8.2Priced above the other purifiers here, and the certified performance is what you are paying for.
Support & reliability9.0Large support footprint, widely stocked replacement filters, owner rating 4.7.

Scores are produced from published specifications, independent third-party test results where they exist, and documented owner-reported reliability. We do not run our own laboratory tests — see How We Test.

Compare with alternatives

ModelScoreBest forReview
Levoit Vital 100S-P8.6Bedrooms and small rooms up to about 222 sq ftRead →
HEAPETS P3398.0Pet households fighting odour as well as hairRead →
HEAPETS P3587.8Small rooms where floor space is tightRead →

Sources & verification

  • Manufacturer-published specification and feature copy on the Levoit Vital 200S-P US listing, September 2026
  • AHAM Verifide certification referenced on the listing, September 2026
  • Owner rating as published on the Amazon US listing for this ASIN, September 2026

Specifications last checked: September 2026. Our recommendations are based on independent research and are not sponsored.

#2 · Air PurifiersBest for bedroomsBest for: Bedrooms and small rooms up to about 222 sq ft
Levoit Vital 100S-P air purifier
Manufacturer’s listing photograph, shown unaltered to identify this model. Property of its owner; no affiliation implied. Image credits

Levoit Vital 100S-P

8.6 / 10Editorial score 8.6 out of 10, our editorial rubric

The bedroom pick: AHAM Verifide with a stated 99.97% capture at 0.1–0.3 microns, 25 dB sleep mode, and the air-change rate published rather than implied.

  • 99.97% stated capture of particles from 0.1 to 0.3 μm
  • 4.8 air changes per hour in rooms up to 222 sq ft
  • 25 dB sleep mode with automatic display dimming

Overview

Two things make the Vital 100S-P the model we would put in a bedroom. The first is that its filtration efficiency is stated with a particle size attached: 99.97% capture of particles between 0.1 and 0.3 micrometres, which is the range that includes pollen, smoke particles and the fine fraction of dust. A generic HEPA badge is not the same claim — this is a testable statement, and the unit is AHAM Verifide on top of it.

The second is that the coverage claim comes with a rate rather than only a room size. Levoit states the unit can purify the air 4.8 times per hour in rooms up to 222 square feet. Publishing the air-change rate is more useful than a bare area figure, because it tells you how aggressively the machine is cycling that room — and it lets you reason about what happens in a slightly larger space, where you simply accept fewer changes per hour.

For overnight use it runs at 25 dB in sleep mode and dims its display automatically when the room gets dark, which is a small thing that decides whether a purifier stays switched on. There is a washable pre-filter, a three-stage filtration system, and scheduling so you can set fan speed or a mode like Pet Mode for specific periods. The limitation is simply size: this is a bedroom machine, and buying it for a living room would be a mistake.

Key specs

CertificationAHAM Verifide
Stated filtration efficiency99.97% capture of particles 0.1–0.3 μm
Rated coverage222 sq ft at 4.8 air changes per hour
Sleep-mode noise25 dB, with automatic display dimming via light detection
Pre-filterWashable — rinse with water to maintain the system
Filter stagesThree-stage filtration with high-efficiency activated carbon
ModesPet Mode, Auto Mode, Sleep Mode
SchedulingStart and end times with per-period fan speed or mode
CADR figureNot published as a number on the listing — certification implies it was measured
Owner rating (listing)4.7 out of 5

What works

  • AHAM Verifide with a specific particle-size efficiency claim — the strongest evidence here
  • Publishes an air-change rate (4.8 per hour) rather than only a room size
  • 25 dB sleep mode with automatic display dimming suits bedrooms
  • Washable pre-filter reduces main-filter running costs
  • Per-period scheduling and a dedicated Pet Mode
  • Owner rating of 4.7 across a very large review base

Where it falls short

  • 222 sq ft is a bedroom-scale figure — it will not service a large living room
  • CADR is not published as a standalone number
  • Smaller filter volume means more frequent replacement than the larger model

Who it's for

  • Bedrooms and small rooms where noise and light matter overnight
  • Allergy sufferers who want a testable filtration claim rather than a badge
  • Pet owners who want a dedicated Pet Mode and a washable pre-filter

Who should skip it

  • Open-plan or large rooms, which need the bigger model
  • Buyers comparing brands on a published CADR number
  • Anyone who wants one purifier to cover an entire apartment
How this score was built (8.6 / 10)
Verified performance9.2AHAM Verifide, with a specific stated efficiency of 99.97% at 0.1–0.3 μm.
Coverage8.0222 sq ft with 4.8 air changes per hour — small, but the rate is stated.
Ease & maintenance8.9Sleep mode at 25 dB with automatic display dimming and a washable pre-filter.
Value for the tier8.8Certified filtration and scheduling at a bedroom-scale price.
Support & reliability9.0Widely available replacement filters and an owner rating of 4.7.

Scores are produced from published specifications, independent third-party test results where they exist, and documented owner-reported reliability. We do not run our own laboratory tests — see How We Test.

Compare with alternatives

ModelScoreBest forReview
Levoit Vital 200S-P8.9Large rooms up to 1,875 sq ft and allergy householdsRead →
HEAPETS P3587.8Small rooms where floor space is tightRead →
HEAPETS P3398.0Pet households fighting odour as well as hairRead →

Sources & verification

  • Manufacturer-published specification and feature copy on the Levoit Vital 100S-P US listing, September 2026
  • AHAM Verifide certification referenced on the listing, September 2026
  • Owner rating as published on the Amazon US listing for this ASIN, September 2026

Specifications last checked: September 2026. Our recommendations are based on independent research and are not sponsored.

#3 · Air PurifiersBest for pet odourBest for: Pet households fighting odour as well as hair
HEAPETS P339 air purifier
Manufacturer’s listing photograph, shown unaltered to identify this model. Property of its owner; no affiliation implied. Image credits

HEAPETS P339

8.0 / 10Editorial score 8.0 out of 10, our editorial rubric

Seven filtration stages with a bio-enzyme carbon layer aimed at pet odour — but the 4,200 sq ft claim is not backed by a CADR figure, so treat coverage as unverified.

  • Seven-stage filtration including bio-enzyme activated carbon
  • 360° U-shaped inlet designed to capture floating pet hair
  • PM2.5 display and air quality indicator

Overview

If odour is your problem rather than dust, this is the more interesting of the two HEAPETS units. Its filtration stack runs to seven stages, and the layer that matters is bio-enzyme activated carbon — enzymes target the organic compounds responsible for pet and litter-box odour, which a plain carbon layer adsorbs less effectively. It pairs that with a 360° U-shaped air inlet and a custom pre-filter cotton intended to pull floating hair and dander out of the air before it settles, and it adds a PM2.5 display and air quality indicator so you can watch the machine respond in real time.

It is certified to EPA, ETL, FCC and CE requirements and complies with CARB and California Proposition 65 for indoor cleaning equipment, which covers product safety and emissions rather than cleaning performance. A pet lock stops paws and children changing settings, which is a small feature that a surprising number of listings forget.

Now the part that decides whether you should buy it. The listing claims coverage up to 4,200 square feet. There is no CADR figure anywhere on the page, and no AHAM certification. A 4,200 square foot claim from a unit in this class should be treated as marketing arithmetic rather than measured performance — applying the standard one-air-change-per-hour basis, 4,200 sq ft implies an airflow no machine of this size delivers at a realistic noise level. Compare on the filtration design and the odour layer, which are real, and disregard the room-size number.

Key specs

CertificationEPA, ETL, FCC, CE; CARB and Prop 65 compliant for indoor cleaning equipment
Stated coverageUp to 4,200 sq ft — manufacturer claim, no CADR published
Filter stagesSeven-stage H13 HEPA with anion and bio-enzyme activated carbon
Air inlets360° U-shaped inlet with custom pre-filter cotton for floating hair
Odour treatmentBio-enzyme activated carbon layer
Air quality displayPM2.5 display with an air quality indicator
Sleep modeQuiet operation with automatic adjustment
Child/pet lockPet Lock included
CADR figureNot published
Owner rating (listing)4.3 out of 5

What works

  • Seven-stage filtration with a bio-enzyme carbon layer genuinely aimed at odour
  • 360° U-shaped inlet targets floating pet hair before it settles
  • PM2.5 display lets you see the machine reacting rather than trusting a light
  • Pet Lock is a small feature most competitors omit
  • Safety and emissions certifications are in place (EPA, ETL, FCC, CE, CARB)

Where it falls short

  • No CADR figure published and no AHAM certification — cleaning performance is unverified
  • The 4,200 sq ft coverage claim is implausible for a unit of this class
  • Newer brand with a shorter public reliability record
  • Owner rating of 4.3 is the lower of the two brands here

Who it's for

  • Pet households where odour, not only hair, is the complaint
  • Buyers who want a bio-enzyme carbon layer rather than plain activated carbon
  • Anyone who wants a visible PM2.5 readout

Who should skip it

  • Buyers who need a CADR figure to compare brands on measured performance
  • People who will be guided by the 4,200 sq ft claim — it is not verifiable
  • Anyone who prioritises a long established reliability record
How this score was built (8.0 / 10)
Verified performance7.2No CADR published and no AHAM certification; the room-size claim is the manufacturer’s own.
Coverage8.6Claims up to 4,200 sq ft — implausibly large for the class, and unverified.
Ease & maintenance8.2PM2.5 display, air quality indicator and a pet lock; quiet sleep mode.
Value for the tier8.4Seven filter stages including bio-enzyme carbon, at a competitive price.
Support & reliability7.8Certified to EPA, ETL, FCC, CE and CARB, but a newer brand with a shorter record.

Scores are produced from published specifications, independent third-party test results where they exist, and documented owner-reported reliability. We do not run our own laboratory tests — see How We Test.

Compare with alternatives

ModelScoreBest forReview
HEAPETS P3587.8Small rooms where floor space is tightRead →
Levoit Vital 200S-P8.9Large rooms up to 1,875 sq ft and allergy householdsRead →
Levoit Vital 100S-P8.6Bedrooms and small rooms up to about 222 sq ftRead →

Sources & verification

  • Manufacturer-published specification and feature copy on the HEAPETS P339 US listing, September 2026 — no CADR figure appears on the page
  • Certification claims (EPA, ETL, FCC, CE, CARB, Prop 65) as stated on the listing, September 2026
  • Owner rating as published on the Amazon US listing for this ASIN, September 2026

Specifications last checked: September 2026. Our recommendations are based on independent research and are not sponsored.

#4 · Air PurifiersBest small footprintBest for: Small rooms where floor space is tight
HEAPETS P358 air purifier
Manufacturer’s listing photograph, shown unaltered to identify this model. Property of its owner; no affiliation implied. Image credits

HEAPETS P358

7.8 / 10Editorial score 7.8 out of 10, our editorial rubric

An A4-sized unit with a washable pre-filter and a 25 dB sleep mode — but the 2,500 sq ft coverage claim has no CADR behind it, and it carries the lowest owner rating here.

  • Footprint about the size of an A4 sheet of paper
  • H13 HEPA with a washable electrostatic pre-filter
  • 25 dB sleep mode with display lights switched off

Overview

The P358 is built around one clear idea: a purifier small enough that you will actually leave it out. Its footprint is about the size of an A4 sheet of paper, it runs at 25 dB in sleep mode with the display lights off, and it offers five fan speeds, a timer and a filter-life reminder. The dual-sided air inlets are designed to draw air in from two directions so that airborne pet hair is captured before it settles, and the replacement filter uses electrostatic pre-filter pads plus a composite filter, which the listing claims cuts filter costs by about half compared with standard annual replacement.

Its certifications cover safety and emissions rather than performance: ETL, EPA, FCC and CE, plus CARB compliance. That is worth having, but it is not a cleaning-performance guarantee.

The honest assessment is that this is the weakest model in our comparison, for two reasons. It carries the lowest owner rating here at 4.1 out of 5, and its 2,500 square foot coverage claim is not supported by any CADR figure. A unit with an A4 footprint cannot cycle the air in a 2,500 square foot space; that figure assumes one air change per hour at maximum fan speed, which is not a setting you would live with. Buy it as a genuinely compact purifier for a small room, and judge it on that.

Key specs

CertificationETL, EPA, FCC, CE; CARB compliant and California-compliant for indoor cleaning equipment
Stated coverageUp to 2,500 sq ft — manufacturer claim, no CADR published
FootprintAbout the size of an A4 sheet of paper
Sleep-mode noise25 dB with display lights turned off
FilterH13 HEPA with a dual-sided electrostatic pre-filter
Air inletsDual-sided U-shaped inlets
ControlsFive fan speeds, timer, filter-life reminder, Pet Lock
Claimed running costAbout 50% less on filters than standard annual replacement
CADR figureNot published
Owner rating (listing)4.1 out of 5 — lowest in this comparison

What works

  • A4-sized footprint means it can sit out without dominating a room
  • 25 dB sleep mode with lights off is genuinely unobtrusive
  • Dual-sided inlets target airborne pet hair from two directions
  • Washable electrostatic pre-filter pads reduce running costs
  • Lowest purchase price in this comparison

Where it falls short

  • Lowest owner rating here at 4.1 out of 5
  • No CADR published and no AHAM certification
  • The 2,500 sq ft coverage claim is not supported by the machine’s physical size
  • Newer brand with a shorter reliability record

Who it's for

  • Small rooms and apartments where floor space is the binding constraint
  • Buyers who want a purifier quiet enough to run overnight in a small bedroom
  • Anyone prioritising low upfront price and low filter running costs

Who should skip it

  • Large rooms — the coverage claim should not be relied on
  • Buyers who want certified, independently measured cleaning performance
  • Anyone who weights owner-reported reliability heavily, given the 4.1 rating
How this score was built (7.8 / 10)
Verified performance7.0No CADR published and no AHAM certification; performance rests on the manufacturer’s own claims.
Coverage7.8Claims up to 2,500 sq ft from an A4-sized footprint — the physics do not support the number.
Ease & maintenance8.425 dB sleep mode with display lights off, five fan speeds, timer and filter reminders.
Value for the tier8.3The lowest-priced unit here, with a claimed 50% saving on filter costs.
Support & reliability7.6Same certification set as the P339, but the lowest owner rating in this comparison at 4.1.

Scores are produced from published specifications, independent third-party test results where they exist, and documented owner-reported reliability. We do not run our own laboratory tests — see How We Test.

Compare with alternatives

ModelScoreBest forReview
HEAPETS P3398.0Pet households fighting odour as well as hairRead →
Levoit Vital 100S-P8.6Bedrooms and small rooms up to about 222 sq ftRead →
Levoit Vital 200S-P8.9Large rooms up to 1,875 sq ft and allergy householdsRead →

Sources & verification

  • Manufacturer-published specification and feature copy on the HEAPETS P358 US listing, September 2026 — no CADR figure appears on the page
  • Certification claims (ETL, EPA, FCC, CE, CARB) as stated on the listing, September 2026
  • Owner rating as published on the Amazon US listing for this ASIN, September 2026

Specifications last checked: September 2026. Our recommendations are based on independent research and are not sponsored.

Buying guide: choosing a air purifier

How to read the specifications above, what each one tells you about daily life, and the measurements worth taking in your own home before you decide.

1CADR is the number that makes purifiers comparable

Clean Air Delivery Rate measures the volume of clean air a purifier produces per minute, tested to a published standard. It is the only figure that lets you compare two machines of different designs on equal terms, and it is the figure most listings avoid.

When a listing gives a room size but no CADR, you are being told what the machine can theoretically service at maximum fan speed for one air change per hour. That is a marketing basis, not a comfort basis. Treat the room-size figure as a ceiling you should halve.

2Certification is the shortcut when CADR is missing

AHAM Verifide means the manufacturer submitted the unit for independent testing to ANSI-accredited standards. It is not a guarantee that the machine suits your room, but it does mean a third party measured it.

Safety certifications — ETL, EPA, FCC, CE, CARB — are a different thing entirely. They cover electrical safety and emissions compliance, not cleaning performance. A listing that leads with safety certifications but publishes no CADR is not telling you how well the purifier cleans.

3Match the machine to the room, not the other way round

A purifier that is oversized for its room runs on low fan speed, quietly and efficiently. One that is undersized runs at maximum all day and never reaches the clean-air rate you needed. Given that noise is the main reason people switch purifiers off, sizing up is usually the better error.

The practical approach: take the manufacturer room figure, halve it for realistic continuous use, and see whether the result still covers your room. If it does not, move up a model.

4The real cost is filters, not electricity

A purifier draws very little power. Its running cost is filters — and those costs vary enormously between models. Some brands cut the ongoing cost with washable or electrostatic pre-filter pads, which take the hair and coarse dust that would otherwise clog the main filter and shorten its life.

Rinsing a pre-filter is the single cheapest maintenance task you can do. It is also the one that protects the expensive filter, so it is worth doing on a schedule rather than when the machine reminds you.

5Odour needs a specific filter chemistry

Removing odour is a different problem from removing particles. HEPA media captures particles; odour molecules are gases and pass straight through it. Gas removal requires activated carbon, and the amount and type of carbon determines how well it works.

Plain activated carbon adsorbs a broad range of volatile compounds but saturates. Some units add a bio-enzyme layer aimed at the organic compounds in pet and litter-box odour specifically. If odour is your complaint, filter chemistry is the specification to read — not the HEPA rating.

Air Purifiers: frequently asked questions

The questions we are asked most often about this category, answered without hedging.

What is the best air purifier in 2026?

For a large room, the Levoit Vital 200S-P tops our ranking because it is AHAM Verifide and rated up to 1,875 sq ft — independent certification is worth more than a self-reported room figure. For a bedroom, the Vital 100S-P is the better size and publishes an air-change rate rather than only an area. If odour is the main complaint, the HEAPETS P339 adds a bio-enzyme carbon layer aimed at odour compounds, though it publishes no CADR.

What is CADR and why does it matter?

CADR stands for Clean Air Delivery Rate — the volume of clean air the purifier delivers per minute, measured to a published test standard. It is the only metric that makes two differently designed purifiers directly comparable. When a listing advertises a room size but no CADR, you cannot compare that unit on measured performance, and the room figure is based on one air change per hour at maximum fan speed rather than comfortable continuous operation.

Why do some purifiers claim 4,000+ sq ft coverage?

Because the number is calculated rather than measured. Room-size claims are typically derived from maximum airflow assuming a single air change per hour, which is a much weaker standard than the four to five air changes per hour most people expect in practice. A physically small unit claiming several thousand square feet is almost always trading on that arithmetic. Where a listing publishes an air-change rate instead — one model here states 4.8 per hour at 222 sq ft — you can reason about performance honestly.

Is HEPA enough to remove pet odour?

No. HEPA media captures particles, and odour is caused by gas molecules that pass straight through it. Removing odour requires activated carbon, and the quantity and chemistry of that carbon determines how well it works. Some units add a bio-enzyme layer targeted at the organic compounds in pet and litter-box odour. If odour is your main complaint, read the carbon specification rather than the HEPA rating.

How loud is too loud for a bedroom purifier?

Under about 27 dB is generally quiet enough to sleep next to, and both bedroom-appropriate models here publish figures in that range — 25 dB and 27 dB. The other thing to look for is automatic display dimming, since a bright LED panel is often what stops people running a purifier overnight rather than the fan noise itself.

How often do air purifier filters need replacing?

It depends on how dirty your air is and how many hours the unit runs. What lengthens filter life most reliably is a washable or electrostatic pre-filter, which captures hair and coarse dust before it reaches the main filter. Rinse it regularly and let it dry fully before refitting. Check replacement filter availability and price for the specific model before buying — that is the dominant running cost, not electricity.

Do safety certifications tell me anything about cleaning performance?

No, and this is a common source of confusion. Certifications such as ETL, FCC, CE and EPA cover electrical safety and emissions compliance. CARB compliance covers ozone output from the device. None of them measure how much clean air the unit delivers. AHAM Verifide is the certification that does relate to performance, because it involves independent testing of clean-air delivery.

Do I need an ioniser or anion function?

It is optional and worth understanding before you rely on it. Ionisers charge particles so they clump and settle out of the air; they do not remove them from the room, and some generate a small amount of ozone. Look for CARB compliance, which limits ozone output, and treat ionisation as a supplement to filtration rather than a replacement for it.

Should I size up or down when choosing a purifier?

Size up. An oversized purifier runs on low fan speed to maintain clean air, which means it is both quieter and more efficient in use. An undersized one runs at maximum continuously and still may not achieve the air-change rate the room needs. A practical rule: take the stated room coverage, halve it for realistic continuous operation, and check the result still covers your room.

How many air changes per hour do I actually want?

Four to five air changes per hour is a reasonable target for a living space, and higher for a bedroom where someone has allergies. The useful thing to look for is a listing that states the rate rather than only a room area — one model here publishes 4.8 changes per hour at 222 square feet, which tells you far more than a bare area figure and lets you estimate what happens in a slightly larger room.

Related buying situations

Other categories

Our recommendations are based on independent research and are not sponsored. SmartHomeVerdict does not publish prices and does not use affiliate links. Specifications were checked against manufacturer documentation in September 2026; where a brand does not disclose a figure we mark it “Not published” rather than estimating it.